Frosted Fire Single-poem Competition 2022

The judges are Janet Lees from Isle of Man, Ben Ray from Belgium, and Samantha DeFlitch from the United States.

Thank you to all 270 poets who entered this competition.

We aim to publish the judges’ longlist of up to 20 poems by the end of August. Based on our previous single-poem contests, the poets who wrote these poems are likely to include at least 3 nationalities.

During September, we will publish an online anthology of the longlisted poems, and announce the 6 prizewinners.

Finally, on Saturday 1 October, we will run an International Winners Reading Event on Zoom at 7pm London time. All of the longlisted poets will be invited to read, either live or pre-recorded.

The prizes for first, second, and third are £350, £150, and £75 respectively. Up to three highly commended poets will receive £25. Poems from the above, plus the long-list of commended poets, will be published in an anthology book and online in wildfire words.

Transformation single-poem competition 2021 — online anthology

Wild words single-poem competition 2020

Two triage judges, Janet Lees and Samantha DeFlitch, will each read half of the entries. They will jointly form a longlist of contenders for the prizes. Janet won the Frosted Fire First Pamphlet Award in 2019, and Samantha was a prizewinner in last year’s single-poem competition from Frosted Fire.

The final list of prize winners and highly commended poets will be decided by leading judge Ben Ray. A great communicator, Ben will write an adjudication showing why the prizewinning poems deserve their accolade. This will, no doubt, be interesting reading, as was his adjudication for the first Frosted Fire single-poem competition in 2020.

All entries presented to the judges are anonymous. The competition’s administrator, Annie Ellis, will not be able to identify the successful poets until all the judging is complete and the database of entrants is unlocked.

Rules for Every Breath competition 2022

Closing date: 15 July 2022

  • The contest is open to all poets, except those who act as volunteers for Wildfire Words/Frosted Fire.
  • All poems must be entirely the entrant’s own, unpublished work.
  • International entrants are welcome, but entries must be in English. Translations are not allowed, unless the poet has translated their own poetry into English.
  • You may submit as many poems as you like, in batches of up to 4 poems. Each poem should be a seperate file, and an entry fee must be paid for each.
  • Each poem’s title should be at the top of the page, and the file name of the poem must be the poem’s title.
  • Each poem should be in one file in Word or PDF, and no longer than 70 lines, not counting title or stanza break lines.
  • Do not put any identification on the work. We will match your entry title to your email address after the anonymous judging is complete.
  • To maintain anonymous judging, Your entry must not contain a poem that might be recognized by any of the judges through workshops, mentoring, or public readings.
  • Simultaneous submissions are accepted, but an entry must be withdrawn in the event of it winning a prize or publication elsewhere. Entry fees are not refundable once an entry has been received.
  • Work will not be returned, so please keep a copy.
  • We are unable to give feedback on individual entries or on the results of the competition — the judges’ decisions are final.
  • Results will be emailed by mid September 2022 to all who entered, and published on this website.
  • The entry fee is £4 per poem, or £12 for 4.
  • Entries must be paid for on the entry form, and your entry file uploaded, by the closing time of 11.59 pm on 15 July 2022.

Have a problem or question? Please email to

%d bloggers like this: