Frosted Fire Firsts Pamphlet Competition 2022

Announcing the winning poets

The judging process is complete, and wildfire words is proud to announce our winning poets — 6 Commended, 4 Highly Commended, and 2 Award Winners.

All of the outstanding poets listed below will be reading two of the poems from their entry in an International Zoom meeting on Saturday 25 June 2022 at 7:00 pm London Time..

Audience tickets are free and available here.

Frosted Fire First Pamphlet Award poets 2022

C.I. Marshall
Helena Goddard

Highly Commended poets

Louise Walker
Martin Rieser
Polly Walshe
Susan Duncan

Commended poets

Christine Marshall
Eloise Unerman
Janet Dean
Julie Runacres
Linda Ford
Neil Douglas

Lead Judge Angela France with 2019 Frosted Fire Firsts Award Winner Janet Lees selected the award winners and short list from the longlist of poets, all of whom produced an entry worthy of a publisher’s serious consideration.

The longlist was chosen by triage judges, who each read half of the entries, then together agreed a longlist of potential award winners. The triage judges were 2021 Frosted Fire Firsts Award Winners Ben Verinder and Maeve Henry.

All of the entries were anonymous throughout the judging process.

Triage judges Ben Verinder and Maeve Henry

Frosted Fire Firsts offers all poets unpublished in book form a chance to win an award that funds publication of their first poetry collection, as a pamphlet (a book of 36 pages or fewer). The award also includes 50 free copies, an author’s page with a sample of the poems in wildfire words, and headline poet status in an international online Zoom book launch. Also, the winners of a Frosted Fire Firsts Pamphlet Award are invited to act as professional triage judges of the next year’s competition.

Free reservations for the Winners’ readings on 25 June 2022

Rules for Frosted Fire Firsts competition 2022

Closing date: 18 April 2022

Each prize book will be published as a 32-page pamphlet, which will contain up to 28 pages of poetry. Entries for the competition should be as a single file containing up to 10 poems that showcase the poet’s work.

  • The contest is open to all poets, except those who act as volunteers in Cheltenham Poetry Festival or Wildfire Words/Frosted Fire. The winner must not have had a pamphlet or collection published by an independent publisher, or contracted for publication before or on 18 April 2022.
  • All poems must be entirely the entrant’s own work. Individual poems in an entry may have been published online, in journals or magazines, or multi-author anthologies, provided the writer retains copyright.
  • International entrants are welcome.
  • Each entry should contain up to 10 poems of no more than 60 lines per poem. Each poem should start on a new page and preferably in 12 pt Calibri type (or similar sanserif face) Winners will later be invited to submit enough poems for a 32-page pamphlet.)
  • You may submit up to three entries, each of 10 poems, provided an entry fee is paid for each.
  • Your entry’s title should appear on a separate first page. The title may relate to a key poem or suggest the collection’s theme if it has one. The title must also be the name of the file containing your poems.
  • To maintain anonymous judging, there must be no identifying marks on any poem or title page. Your entry must not contain any poem that might be recognized by any of the judges through workshops, mentoring, or public readings. We will match your entry title to your email address after anonymous judging is complete.
  • Each entry should be in one file in Word or PDF.
  • Simultaneous submissions are accepted, but an entry must be withdrawn in the event of it winning a prize or publication elsewhere.. Entry fees are not refundable once an entry has been received.
  • Work will not be returned, so please keep a copy.
  • We are unable to give feedback on individual entries or on the results of the competition — the judges’ decisions are final.
  • Results will be emailed by 23 May 2022 to all who entered, and published on this website shortly afterwards.
  • The fee is £12 per entry. The Early Bard discounted price ended on 23 March 2022.
  • Entries must be paid for, and your entry file uploaded, by the closing time of 11.59 pm on 18 April 2022. Cheque payments must arrive at Frosted Fire by 20 April.
%d bloggers like this: